Now Accepting Nominations for the 2015 Outstanding Teacher Awards

Celebrate Carroll County’s Outstanding Teachers!

Outstanding Teacher final

The Carroll County Chamber of Commerce and the Carroll County Public School System are seeking nominations for the annual Outstanding Teacher Awards. The deadline for nominations is December 31, 2014.

The Outstanding Teacher Awards recognize the men and women of the Carroll County Public School System who represent excellence in the teaching profession. Any full-time elementary, middle, high school, career and technology, special education teacher, or media specialist in the Carroll County Public School System is eligible for nomination. Carroll County Teacher of the Year winners are not eligible to be finalists. In addition, school counselors are not eligible for nomination under Maryland State Teacher of the Year eligibility requirements.

Any parent, student, fellow teacher, supervisor, school administrator, or community member may submit a nomination online by clicking HERE.

For more information or to request a paper copy of the form, please contact the Carroll County Public Schools Office of Community and Media Relations at or 410-751-3020.

Nominators are urged to nominate teacher(s) who have made a difference in their lives or a student’s life and to give specific examples of what the teacher has done to merit their nomination. All nominated teachers will be invited to the Chamber’s awards program on March 25, 2015, when eight finalists will be named. These eight teachers will be eligible for the Carroll County Teacher of the Year Award presented by Carroll County Public Schools.

2014 Outstanding Teacher Award Winners

Outstanding Teacher Awards_Winners


2014 Award Recipients (from left to right):

  • Melissa A. Madison – Northwest Middle School
  • Tina L. Thomen – Manchester Valley High School
  • Jeffrey N. Sharp – Century High School
  • Teresa A. Adkins – South Carroll High School
  • Gayle J. Sands – Gateway School/Crossroads Middle School
  • Ashley E. Lillard – Charles Carroll Elementary
  • Nicole D. Heinlein – Carrolltowne Elementary
  • Jennifer L. Wennell – Manchester Valley High School
Chamber Chats
Special Offer