Meet the 2016 Outstanding Teacher Award Winners

2016 Carroll County MD Outstanding Teacher Award Winners

We recognized 392 teachers at the 27th annual Outstanding Teacher Awards program held Wednesday evening, March 30, 2016, at Westminster High School.

The following teachers received Outstanding Teacher Awards:

  • Rachel Anglemyer, 3rd Grade Teacher, Sandymount Elementary School
  • Frances Diseroad, Mathematics Teacher, North Carroll Middle School
  • Brendan Gallagher, PLTW Biomedical Sciences Teacher, Carroll County Career and Technology Center
  • Roberta Gore, Drama/English Teacher, North Carroll High School
  • Brandi Jason, Instrumental Music Teacher, Liberty High School
  • Kenneth Mihalyov, Science Teacher, West Middle School
  • Janet Shearer, 1st Grade Teacher, Robert Moton Elementary School
  • Tina Thomen, English Teacher, Manchester Valley High School

The Outstanding Teacher Awards recognize the men and women of the Carroll County Public School System who represent excellence in the teaching profession. Full-time elementary, middle, high school, career and technology, special education teachers, or media specialists in the Carroll County Public School System were eligible for nomination. Any parent, student, fellow teacher, supervisor or school administrator could nominate a teacher who made a difference in their lives or a student’s life.

The Carroll County Teacher of the Year will be chosen from among the eight individuals receiving the Chamber’s Outstanding Teacher Award. That candidate will be Carroll County’s representative for the Maryland Teacher of the Year program. The 2016 Carroll County Teacher of the Year will be named during the Board of Education’s employee recognition ceremony on May 3.

In addition, the Chamber of Commerce awarded Wilhelm Scholarships to teachers to assist in their continuing education. The scholarship recipients were Kimberly Pfleegor, a 7th grade special education teacher at Oklahoma Road Middle School; Katie Raith, a 6th grade teacher at New Windsor Middle School; and Nicole Trotz, a kindergarten teacher at Carrolltowne Elementary School.

Chamber Chats
Special Offer