2015 Outstanding Teacher Award Winners Announced!

This year, more than 500 teachers in the Carroll County Public School system were nominated as an outstanding teacher.  Every nominated teacher was notified of their nomination, and given the opportunity to participate in the competition to be considered for one of the 8 finalist awards. Nearly 400 teachers chose to participate in the program and were honored at the Outstanding Teacher Awards.  Over 600 guests were on hand to watch the teachers come on stage to accept their certificate and learn who had won an award making it the Chamber’s most highly attended event.

The awards ceremony was held at Westminster High School on March 25, 2015.

Outstanding Teacher Award Winners


Pictured left to right: Gayle Sands, ELA Specialist at Crossroads Middle School, Rachel McCusker, Music at Piney Ridge Elementary School, Melanie Roelke, Special Education at West Middle School, Christine Baummer, Social Studies at North Carroll Middle School, Roberta Gore, English and Drama at North Carroll High School, Jan Nies, Media Specialist, Parr’s Ridge Elementary School, Rachel Morgan, Music, at North Carroll Middle School, Kenneth Mihalyov, Science at West Middle School

Wilhelm Scholarship Recipients

The Chamber is pleased to award three of these deserving teachers with Wilhelm Scholarships.




Pictured left to right:  Juliann Novalis, 6th grade Social Studies teacher at East Middle School, Kierre Vinson, 6 & 8th grade Reading Specialist at North Carroll Middle School and Karen Bauer, Kindergarten teacher at Spring Garden Elementary


Chamber Chats
Special Offer